Coldplay Collaborate with Jay-Z

Coldplay's Chris Martin / Photo by Takay
William Goodman

Fall Out Boy, Linkin Park, and, ahem, the Beatles -- Jay-Z already has an impressive resume of cross-genre collaborations. But now, Hova is set to add another bold-faced name to the list: Coldplay.

"In the spirit of trying to do things a bit differently and keep everything fresh, we are going to do a few musical moves that we have not previously attempted," Coldplay frontman Chris Martin wrote on his band's blog [via Stereogum]. "Firstly, in a few weeks we are going to release a version of "Lost!," which has a guest experience on it in the form of Jay-Z."

Details regarding the nature of Jay's contribution have yet to be detailed, but according to Martin's post, the eyebrow-raising collaboration is just one of many releases Coldplay are planning for the near future. An EP titled Prospekt's March, which "contains five songs that were not finished back in May (our deadline for Viva La Vida)," will drop at a yet-to-be announced date in November and will arrive with the version of "Lost!" featuring Jay-Z.

Prospekt's March tracklisting:
1. "Life In Technicolor II"
2. "Postcards From Far Away"?
3. "Glass Of Water"
4. "Rainy Day?"?
5. "Prospekt's March / Poppy Fields"
6. "Lost +"
6. "Lovers in Japan" (Osaka Sun mix)
7. "Now My Feet Won't Touch the Ground"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Night Drive — Easy to Lie " 03:56
  • 2 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 3 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 4 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 5 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 6 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 7 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA