Hear Justin Vernon Gently Coo on Two Tracks From Colin Stetson's Solo Sax Odyssey

Stream four songs from April's 'New History Warfare' LP

Colin Stetson Justin Vernon 'New History Warfare Vol. 3' Stream Songs
Colin Stetson / Photo by Scott Irvine
Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

In his recent In the Studio interview with SPIN, Bon Iver band member and solo saxophone genius Colin Stetson explained that he's working toward paring his music down to a single sentiment: "How do I musically get to a place where I'm [communicating] this idea of utter aloneness?" Certainly, his haunting and hectic "High Above a Grey Green Sea" approached such a space, but Stetson's April 30 LP New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light also includes four collaborations with Bon Iver's Justin Vernon, a man capable of transmitting isolation even from within a 10-piece band.

Thanks to Belgian radio program Sterrenplaten, we can now hear two of those team-ups, plus two other previously unheard Stetson songs, in the stream below. At the top of the show, we get the gossamer Vernon feature "And in Truth." Then, as Pitchfork points out, at 13:35, we hear the darkly propulsive "Hunted" followed by "Who the Waves Are Roaring For" (also with Vernon) and, finally, "Part of Me Apart From You."

Dig what you hear? Ride out the rest of the episode to soak up some more mellow but beauteous songcraft. 

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 2 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 3 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 4 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 5 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 6 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 7 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA