EXCLUSIVE SONG: Modest Mouse-Approved Folkies

Mimicking Birds
Luke McCormick WRITTEN BY
Luke McCormick

More than a year after touring with Modest Mouse, Portland, OR, folk outfit Mimicking Birds released their self-titled debut Tuesday via MM frontman Isaac Brock's Glacial Pace Records -- and SPIN.com has an exclusive download of one of the album's best tracks below!

One listen to "10 Percent" and it's obvious why Brock is so smitten with Mimicking Birds. The tune is a somber folk ditty -- not unlike some of the stripped-down moments from MM's catalog or Brock's onetime side-project Ugly Casanova -- with minimal piano, a shuffling snare drum, and frontman Nate Lacy's quivering, hushed vocals.

Mimicking Birds was recorded in Brock's home studio in Portland, OR, and fans can catch the band playing their new songs live this spring at a few shows in the Northwest. More tour dates are expected to be announced soon. Check out Mimicking Birds' MySpace for more info.

Download "10 Percent" and tell us what you think in the comment section.

LISTEN: Mimicking Birds, "10 Percent"(DOWNLOAD MP3)

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 2 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 3 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 4 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 5 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 6 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 7 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA