First Spin: Hear Daniel Rossen of Grizzly Bear's Haunting 'Saint Nothing'

David Bevan WRITTEN BY
David Bevan

On March 20, Warp will release Silent Hour / Golden Mile, a five-song solo EP from Grizzly Bear/Department of Eagles guitarist Daniel Rossen that's set to include "Saint Nothing," the plaintive, piano-based heartbreaker streaming below. We cannot emphasize the word "plaintive" enough — there's simply no way to teach someone to communicate sadness the way Rossen can. (We've tried, it doesn't work.) And hearing this helps us appreciate the many individual layers of Grizzly Bear's music that much more. So yeah, time to get excited for that next full-length that's supposedly in the works.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 2 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 3 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 4 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 5 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 6 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 7 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA