Jack White Forms New Band

Alison Mosshart / Jack White / Dean Fertita (by: Matthew Field) / Jack Lawrence
William Goodman

Alison Mosshart, vocalist for punk minimalists the Kills, and Jack White have joined forces as the Dead Weather, a new band also featuring White's Raconteurs bandmate Jack Lawrence and Queens of the Stone Age's Dean Fertita.

Mosshart will sing, Lawrence will play bass, Fertita will play guitar -- and White will be on drums and vocals.

The quartet, which are making their live debut tonight at the opening of White's new Third Man Records building in downtown Nashville, will release their debut album, Horehound, in June. It was recorded in just three weeks at the Third Man building, which was designed by White.

A limited edition 7" vinyl pressing of the Dead Weather's debut single, "Hang You From the Heavens" (including a cover of Gary Numan's "Are Friends Electric?"), will be available exclusively to invited guests at Wednesday night's event. The two songs are expected to hit iTunes on Thursday.

While you wait for music, check out video of Mosshart guesting with the Raconteurs in Memphis last September on "Salute Your Solution" and "Steady as She Goes."

Mosshart with the Raconteurs, "Steady as She Goes"

Mosshart with the Raconteurs, "Salute Your Solution"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 2 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 3 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 4 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 5 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 6 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 7 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA