My Morning Jacket Drop Mind-Altering Song

My Morning Jacket
Kevin O'Donnell

After releasing the first single from their forthcoming album Circuital (out May 31) last week, My Morning Jacket have released another new tune titled "Octoplasm," which will be released via their new fan club, Roll Call. Stream it now (via Stereogum).

"Octoplasm" is the inaugural release of the band's new "Self-Hypnosis Series," which will find the band releasing new music via Roll Call that explores "the core of each individual heart, mind, body, and soul." "Octoplasm" is definitely a good start to the project: it's a far-out, instrumental experiment that recalls the Grateful Dead at their most experimental, with jittery, Jerry Garcia-style guitar riffs and fluid, jazzy drums.

Fans can sign up for Roll Call now by pre-ordering MMJ's forthcoming album, Circuital. Members will get access to plenty of MMJ goodies: first dibs on concert tickets, merch, and enrollment in a members' only site that's set to launch this summer.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA