See Refused Play Two Songs at Unannounced Reunion Show

Swedish punks tiny hometown club in run-up to Coachella

Refused / Photo by Dennis Blomberg
Marc Hogan

The long-defunct Swedish hardcore punk rockers who once sang "Refused Are Fucking Dead" are … very much alive. Refused, which broke up in late 1998 after a disastrous tour and a touchstone third album (The Shape of Punk to Come), played their first show in 14 years last night at a small venue in the band's hometown of Umeå. Via Blabbermouth, watch fan footage of two songs from the unannounced set below — maybe consider it a preview of the newly reunited group's upcoming Coachella appearance?


Shouts of "hardcoooore!!!" punctuate the Swedish-language banter before Refused answers a fans request by performing "Everlasting," the title track from a 1994 EP. Tattooed kids who look far too young to have seen the band in its first go-round crowd-surf triumphantly. Shirtless frontman Dennis Lyxzén screams with righteous fury over the band's thrashing, slightly metallic din: "I will not become what I despise."


The fan footage for "Rather Be Dead," the title track from a 1996 EP, starts in mid-explosion, so make sure your headphone volume is at an acceptable level before you click play. That acceptable level, of course, should be really goddamn loud: The lyrics celebrate self-destruction as an alternative to "tradition" and "oppression." The build-up to the howled "rather be alive" bridge is still a bracing study in tension and release. The ending gets cut off, but the message is deafening.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Night Drive — Easy to Lie " 03:56
  • 2 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 3 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 4 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 5 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 6 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 7 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA