Wilco's Jeff Tweedy Debuts Folky New Tune

Jeff Tweedy performs at NYC's Bowery Ballroom in December 2010
Kevin O'Donnell

Wilco have been holed up in their Chicago loft recording the follow-up to 2009's Wilco (the album), but Jeff Tweedy has taken time out for a string of solo acoustic shows, where he's been unveiling new tunes. The frontman recently dropped by a Canadian talk show to perform one of those tracks, titled "Open Your Mind" (via TwentyFourBit).

The track is a pretty, lilting acoustic number, with Tweedy turning out finger-picked chords underneath romantic lyrics like, "I could base my whole existence upon the cherry strands of your whole hair." It's not clear if this song will be fleshed out for Wilco's new record, however.

Prior to his performance, Tweedy sat down for an interview with talk show host George Stroumboulopoulos and opened up about his past addictions to prescription painkillers and how his sobriety is affecting his art these days. "I think I would really want to quit [music] if I didn't feel like I was getting better," he says. "I don't know if [my new songs are] the best songs, but I feel like I'm getting better and enjoying what I do more."


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 2 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 3 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52
  • 4 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 5 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 6 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57
  • 7 Blood Orange — Delancey " 02:15

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA