Flight of the Conchords, 'Flight of the Conchords' (Sub Pop)

Flight of the Conchords
Critical Mass
Label: Sub Pop

by Lindsey Thomas

This New Zealand duo dignify the term "novelty band," whether spoofing Pet Shop Boys or decrying the high cost of sneakers made by "little slave kids" in a socially conscious soul anthem. Divorced from their HBO series, the songs have room to stretch a little, only occasionally sacrificing context. The "Space Oddity" send-up ("Bowie") tacks on a "Let's Dance" coda, and the silly Language 101 lyrics of the jaunty "Foux du Fafa" could inspire Francophilia even without the TV show's French New Wave milieu.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 2 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 3 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 4 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 5 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 6 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 7 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA