Jakob Dylan, 'Seeing Things' (Columbia/Starbucks Entertainment)

Seeing Things
Critical Mass
Label: Columbia/Starbucks Entertainment

by Mikael Wood

After spending a decade and a half with the Wallflowers trying to prove that he could do more than mimic his legendary father, Jakob Dylan goes totally Bob on his Rick Rubin–produced solo debut, which finds the 38-year-old holding forth on love and war and evil's rude health in stripped-down acoustic ditties that sound like prosaic outtakes from The Times They Are A-Changin'. Melodically, Jakob could've dug a little deeper here, even if he was consciously avoiding radio-ready "One Headlight" territory. But Seeing Things does manage a few unexpected moments of timeless grace.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 2 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 3 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 4 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52
  • 5 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 6 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 7 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA