Madlib, 'Beat Konducta, Vol. 5–6: A Tribute to...' (Stones Throw)

Beat Konducta, Vol. 5–6: A Tribute to...
Critical Mass
Label: Stones Throw

by Mosi Reeves

The ghost of the late James "J Dilla" Yancey still haunts Madlib, who calls his musical comrade the "Coltrane of Beats" on this exuberantly melancholy tribute. With song titles like "In Jah's Hands" and "Infinity Sound," this may be the Beat Konducta's most spiritual release to date. But Madlib has his own way of mourning, so he stocks the 42-track odyssey with swaggering soul loops ("Detroit Playaz"), herb anthems ("Another Bag of Bomb"), and Rasta poetry ("For My Mans"). It's the musical equivalent of pouring out a little malt liquor.




00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 2 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 3 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 4 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 5 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 6 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 7 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA