Vivian Girls, 'Everything Goes Wrong' (In the Red)

Everything Goes Wrong
Critical Mass

by Abigail Everdell

On their second album, Brooklyn's garage rockettes bob through another bar-rage of deadpan, harmony-laden Spector speedballs. While the Vivs split their brief debut between love's giddy yays and embittered nays, here they focus almost protactedly on the latter. Through the fuzz and rumble, singer-guitarist Cassie Ramone is blisteringly resentful ("You're My Guy"), introspectively confused ("The End"), and ultimately demoralized ("Before I Start to Cry"). But buck up, ladies! With such candid, cathartic punk rompers, they may never need a rebound.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 2 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 3 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 4 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 5 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 6 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 7 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA