• 111025-matthew-sweet-1.png

    Matthew Sweet Looks Back on 20 Years of 'Girlfriend'

    In October 1991, a polite singer/songwriter from Lincoln, Nebraska, named Matthew Sweet released his third album. There was no reason to believe it would be a commercial success. Marky Mark and the Funky Bunch were sucking all the oxygen out of the charts alongside Mariah Carey, and though Nevermind had just come out, Nirvana had not yet infiltrated every household in America. Sweet had been dropped from A&M, and was now on still-emerging BMG imprint Zoo Entertainment. But Girlfriend, a mix of grungy pop and sarcastic lyrics, proved to be Sweet's breakthrough. He had written the material after the breakup of an early marriage.

  • Freedy Johnston: Songs in the Key of Life

    Click the image for an enlarged, browseable view of this story:

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA